World Heritage Day: 18 April, check all the facts you need to know

Every year 18 April is celebrated as World Heritage Day all over the world. It is also known as World Heritage Day. The first World Heritage Day was celebrated in Tunisia on 18 April 1982 by the International Council of Monuments and Sites. After this, on April 18, UNESCO was officially recognized as World Heritage Day in the year 1983 by UNESCO, the United Nations body, since then World Heritage Day on April 18 in the whole world.

It is celebrated as World Heritage sites are of cultural importance and natural importance. Which are also important in historical and environmental terms. They are of international importance and it is necessary to preserve them.

The main purpose of celebrating World Heritage Day

The main purpose of observing World Heritage Day is to provide preservation to ancient and historically important places/buildings and to make people aware of its importance. Historical places/buildings from all over the world are declared World Heritage by a committee of UNESCO. World Heritage is given special attention by UNESCO for their protection and maintenance.

1052 places/buildings have been recognized by UNESCO as world heritage. Of these, 814 are cultural, 203 are natural and 35 are mixed. 35 places/buildings in India have been recognized as world heritage by UNESCO.

What is known as World Heritage?

UNESCO World Heritage Sites are designated specific locations (For example: forest areas, mountains, lakes, deserts, monuments, buildings, or cities, etc.) that are selected by the World Heritage Sites Committee; And this committee are oversees those sites under the conservancy of UNESCO.

The key point of this program is to select and intercede such places of the world which are important for humanity in terms of world culture. Under certain circumstances, financial assistance is also given to such sites by this committee. So far, around 1092 sites across the world have been declared as World Heritage Sites out of which 845 are cultural, 38 mixed and 209 natural.

Each heritage site is the resources of the particular country in which that site is located; But it is also in the interest of the international community to defend them for the up coming generations and for the benefit for the society. Preferably, the entire world community is responsible for its protection.

The Indian heritage sites

For the first time in the year 1983 AD, four historical sites of India were considered by UNESCO as “World Heritage Site”. These four sites were – Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, Ajanta and Ellora Caves. At present, there are many world heritage sites available in all over India, which are located in different states. UNESCO has included many historical sites of India in the World Heritage List. At present, a total of 35 sites in India are included in the World Heritage List. Out of which 27 have been ranked in the cultural category, 07 in the natural and 01 in the mixed category.

The selection criteria for the sites

By the end of 2004, there were 6 criteria for cultural heritage and 4 criteria for natural heritage. In 2005, it was changed to a total of 10 criteria. Any nominated place must meet at least one criterion.

How many World Heritage Sites are there at present?

From 18 April 1978, 12 sites around the world were included in the list of World Heritage Sites. Till then it was celebrated as “World Memorial and Archaeological Site Day”. But UNESCO started celebrating it as “World Heritage Day” from the year 1983 AD. At present , according to the official site of UNESCO World Heritage Sites , there are a total of 1121 World Heritage Sites in the whole world , which are divided into three sections. There are 869 historical and cultural, 213 natural and 39 mixed sites.